Spend some time today with Aurora employee, Carol Polk!

1. Tell me about your book,“Digging Deep in Order to Reach the Sky.” What are some key messages that you’d like your audience to take away from it?

First of all let me start out by saying I had no intentions of writing a book, neither did I think I could. The inspiration along with the mandate came strictly from the Lord. Expressing how I overcame every obstacle and passed every test in my spiritual walk was crucial in revealing; also showing how God was responsible for all my victories became my endeavor.

2. Who do you think would benefit most from reading your book?

Anyone and everyone who find themselves lying in the pages of my book, whether literal, figurative, or spiritual. I’d like to think of it as a “How To” manual for what they may someday encounter.

3. How do you incorporate spirituality into your life?

Actually it’s just the opposite; my life is incorporated into my spirituality, meaning my walk with the Lord and the things He has commissioned me to do dictate what my life is to be about.

4. What daily activities do you participate in that foster healing and peace in your life?

Speaking by faith, whether yet experiencing the symptoms or not, I continue to quote the scriptures that attest to my healing. Scriptures recited of peace are a continual practice, but again I must say them aloud and not just think them in order to bring about my awaited results.

5. If you could describe your outlook on life in just one word, what would it be?

BETTER!

6. You are a published author, a dedicated mother and work at Aurora Health Care. How do you keep yourself balanced amidst your busy schedule?

It’s not difficult, because first of all I’m part-time. Prior to starting at Aurora I requested a schedule that would allow me the opportunity to be at home when my children left for school and when they returned. The writing of the book was accomplished while the children were asleep and the house conducive to concentrating making the completion of the book easy.

7. Whom do you most admire?

Pondering this question, seeing I was trying to come up with the name of a mortal, I could only come up with none other than my most beloved role model Jesus Christ.

8. Your co-workers describe you as always positive, friendly and eager to lend a helping hand. What keeps you motivated?

Trying to follow the golden rule of “Doing unto others as you would have them do unto you” is my war cry. Encouraging others to adopt this rule is motivation.

9. As an active member of your church, what do you feel this community brings to your life?

The challenge to make better a society many have given up on and after having a prison ministry last from 1979 to 2011 has given me the compassion and tenacity to go the extra mile.

10. When you’re feeling stressed or in need of some time to yourself, where do you go to unwind and reconnect?

I can go anywhere, just as long as I’m in the car ALONE.

11. If you could meet anyone, who would it, be?

GOD

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Stephanie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie

Stephanie joined The Healing Center over 4 years ago and coordinates volunteers, marketing efforts, and operations. She enjoys traveling the world, non-profit and development work, and writing about health-related topics in a creative way. Her goal is to offer readers a dose of inspiration, calming words to carry them through the day and tips she compiles from her own mind and others about how to walk a peaceful path.

Leave a Reply

