Spirited Souls: Spend some time today with Jungian psychoanalyst and psychiatrist, Dr. Bedi

1. What led you to choose a career as a psychiatrist and psychoanalyst?

As a medical student in India, I noticed that the majority of medical problems, relationship tangles had a significant emotional component. While the medical treatment took care of the symptoms, it did not attend to the underlying emotional factors. This inspired me to become a psychiatrist to deal with this BLIND SPOT in Medicine.

Growing up, I saw my mother suffering from what I now know to be Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and secondary depression. I was determined to understand it and minister to it. Her suffering motivated me to attend to the wounded souls.

Once, I became a psychiatrist, I was in the same dilemma. Modern Psychiatry band-aids the symptoms, but does not address the wounds of the soul. This inspired me to become a psychoanalyst.

2. How do you incorporate spirituality into your life?

Spirituality means honoring the deeper mystery of our being and the whispers of our soul guiding our purpose and path in this lifetime.  I stay attentive to this inner spiritual guidance via my dreams, synchronistic events, messages from my body and relationships as guiding whispers of my soul, which derives its energy from the Spirit in the Collective.

3. How did you become interested in the work of Carl Jung?

Traditional Freudian analysis focuses on untangling the wounds of the past. This seemed to be a limited view of the potential of the human spirit. Finally, I found my calling in Jungian analysis combined with my Eastern healing tradition. Both focus not just on the past, but claiming our full potential and are a relevant and meaningful participant in the optimal functioning of our society and community. The Eastern approach of recognizing and balancing our authentic nature, combined with the Jungian emphasis of finding and living our personal myth seems to best honor our potential and use it in service of our family, welfare of the community & harmony of our society.

4. Do you think you are a different person today (mentally and emotionally) because of your work with trauma survivors?

Work with trauma survivors has made me humble at the courage, dignity and resilience of the human spirit to heal against all odds.  I am in awe of the mystery of human nature, that can rebound against all odds and soul crushing experiences. It has also deepened my trust in nature of spiritual forces that nurture and repair the wounds of the mind, body and soul that we inflict upon each other.

5. What daily activities do you participate in that foster healing and peace in your life?

I have a daily practice of Centering Prayer, dream recording and analysis and journaling to untangle my feelings.

6. If you could describe your outlook on life in just one word, what would it be?

Gratitude

7. You have studied and worked in India, Great Britain and the United States. How has working with different beliefs and cultures abroad impacted your work in the U.S.?

Every culture is like a blind person trying to define the elephant. When many blind individuals pool their consciousness and observations, they have a clearer definition of the elephant. My three incarnations in my native spiritual India, my admired Britain with respect for tradition and American lens of experimental spirit offers a rich paradigm to understand the complexity of human nature and creative ways of treating it and engaging its deepest potentials.

8. Whom do you most admire?

Mahatma Gandhi

9. What led you to consult with the Sexual Assault Treatment Center of Aurora and how has it enhanced your career path?

Before consulting with the Sexual Assault Treatment Center, I was in denial of the level of suffering of trauma survivors in our community. Now, I am much more sensitized to the issue. This has enhanced and deepened my analytic work with ALL my patients. My daughter Ami works with survivors at The Healing Center. Her work has further amplified my consciousness about this crucial issue and need to prevent it and attend to it.

10. If you could meet anyone, who would it be?

His Holiness, the Dalai Lama.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Stephanie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie

Stephanie joined The Healing Center over 4 years ago and coordinates volunteers, marketing efforts, and operations. She enjoys traveling the world, non-profit and development work, and writing about health-related topics in a creative way. Her goal is to offer readers a dose of inspiration, calming words to carry them through the day and tips she compiles from her own mind and others about how to walk a peaceful path.

One thought on “Spirited Souls: Spend some time today with Jungian psychoanalyst and psychiatrist, Dr. Bedi

Leave a Reply

