What does spiritual wellness mean to you?

Spiritual wellness is a very personal journey of self discovery that allows for not only healing, but a life that exudes happiness, purpose and wellbeing.

Stephanie represents The Healing Center of Aurora Sinai, located in Milwaukee's Walker's Point neighborhood.

When I look at my own life, I think of “spiritual wellness” as a way for me to develop my beliefs, values and unique path. Some may refer to the spiritual portion of their lives as religion, while others feel a similar sense when interacting with nature, meditating or connecting deeply with those they love.

Personally, this part of my life is one of the most important. It allows me to walk this Earth in peace and fight for all that I treasure. My strong spiritual self helps me realize what is important and what I can let go. It fills up the empty spaces and makes room for thoughts, feelings and experiences that develop who I am.

In my experience at The Healing Center, I continuously interact with sexual violence survivors, trauma counselors and health practitioners. Within this space, I am reminded of the importance of spiritual wellness for healing from current and past abuse and taking care of one’s self as a caregiver. It can be pretty difficult to work in this field without some kind of self care.

Currently, I am a student, wife, daughter, sister and non-profit volunteer in addition to my 9-5 job. It is a great life, one that allows me to find constant joy, but also a hectic one. Oftentimes, I have to “…hurry up and relax” as Laura van Dernoot Lipsky says so eloquently in her book, Trauma Stewardship. I believe my journey of spiritual wellness helps me take time to reflect and keep discovering my true, authentic self.

The Healing Center provides counseling, group therapy and other support services to adult survivors of sexual violence. All of our services are free, as we believe that everyone, regardless of inability to pay, has a right to heal from abuse. To learn more about our services, please visit our website

2 thoughts on “What does spiritual wellness mean to you?

  1. My spiritual wellness is a result of trusting that no matter what stressful situation arises, I do whatever I can to help solve it, but then let go and let God lead me to where I am to be.

    • Letting go can feel so good sometimes! I think it’s so important to know that it IS ok to let go and free ourselves from all that we cannot control.

Leave a Reply

